Penn State students and staff shine bright

AwardPennsylvania State at University Park will be sending 10 students abroad for 2012-2013, each having been awarded the prestigious Fulbright Grant. In addition, 6 faculty members at the University Park campus have also been awarded as well as 3 from other locations. Penn State, consistently ranks as the leading institution for producing Fulbright student candidates and faculty.

Michael Adewumi, vice provost for Global Programs, said, “I am very pleased to see Penn State continue to rank number one in Fulbright Faculty Scholars for the 2012-13 academic year. Penn State is committed to building a global university, and the Fulbright awards are a reflection of that commitment.”

The Fulbright Program is a prestigious, merit-based grant designed to provide teachers, scholars, students and professionals the ability to participate in an international educational exchange with various other member countries around the world.

8,000 grants are awarded each year with a total of 120,000 “Fulbrighters” participating in the exchange since its inception in 1946. United States universities enroll 2,000 international Fulbright students into their graduate programs every year.

“The Fulbright Program aims to bring a little more knowledge, a little more reason, and a little more compassion into world affairs and thereby increase the chance that nations will learn at last to live in peace and friendship,” said Senator J. William Fulbright.

Penn State at University Park will be sending students

– Ruth Canagarajah, grant for study/research, Sri Lanka.
– Denise Grollmus, grant for study/research, Poland.
– Nikki Hatza, English teaching assistantship (ETA), Spain.
– Alison Eisel Hendricks, grant for study/research, Germany.
– Nicole Legenski, grant for study/research, Singapore.
– Elizabeth Neyens, ETA, Taiwan.
– Jamie Shinn, grant for study/research, Botswana.
– Natalie Storey, ETA, Morocco.
– Jennifer Titanski-Hooper, grant for study/research, Croatia.
– Angel Zheng, ETA, Macau.

Penn State will be sending 9 faculty members over all

– Mark Agee, professor of economics, Macedonia in Thessaloniki, Greece.
– Tarasankar DebRoy, professor of material science and engineering, Recife, Brazil.
– Russell Frank, associate professor of journalism, L’viv, Ukraine.
– Scott McDonald, associate professor and director of curriculum and instruction, Dublin, Ireland.
– JeriLynn Peck, research associate, Dresden, Germany.
– Steven Rubin, assistant professor of arts, Aizawl, India.
– Hoi Suen, professor of educational psychology, Suwon, South Korea.
– Tjiauw-Ling Tan, professor of psychiatry, Jakarta, Indonesia.
– Eric Zenner, associate professor of silviculture, Ljubljana, Slovenia.